To Face Commissions of Inquiry … APC ‘Alagbas’ To Return Home


Notwithstanding that they are deeply dismayed by the failure of the Chief Justice over their protestations that the ongoing Commissions of Inquiry should have clearly defined rules of evidence, members of the former All People’s Congress (APC) government of ex-President Koroma that have been declared as persons of interest to the inquiries have said that they will make themselves available as and when required.

Already, those who have been called but not made themselves physically available to the commissions have hired barristers to appear on their behalf. Among them are the former Minister of Defense, Alfred Palo Conteh, former Minister of Health, Miatta Kargbo and former Minister of Agriculture, Prof. Monty Jones.

Late last year and early this year when the government was putting modalities in place for the commissions, APC Secretary General, Ambassador Osman Foday Yansaneh made it known to the nation and the international community that APC was not against the idea of holding public officials to account and that the party will send letters to all members of its former government wanted for investigation to make themselves available. However, he and the party protested that Bio’s government had failed to take into account their call for the Constitution, particularly Section 150 to be respected in setting up of the commissions.

Some prominent APC members that served in the Koroma government that are currently out of the country because of various reasons, include, Alhaji Pat Sowe, Balogun Koroma, Dr. Kelfala Marah, Dr. Sylvia Blyden, Dr. Abu Bakarr Fofana, Miatta Kargbo, Kemoh Sesay, Ibrahim Mansaray aka Washingai, among others.