2 EX-MPs In Hot Waters


By Thomas S. Kembay

One of the orders slammed by Justice Komba Kamanda in the Friday 31st May 2019 ruling on the parliamentary election petition cases has stated that the refunds of seven hundred and thirty million Leones (Le730) be paid by  two unseated All People’s Congress (APC) Members of Parliament as Constituency Development Fund (CDF) and emolument over a period of one year.

According to Justice Komba Kamanda, Hon Osman Abdul Timbo of Constituency 130 and Hon Ahmed Mansaray of Constituency 121 violated the 1991 Constitution by not resigning as Civil Servants a year before their elections.

He found them guilty of receiving salaries from the Consolidated Revenue Fund (CRF) less than a year before the 7th March, 2019 parliamentary elections which is contrary to law.

In his case, the court found out that Lawyer Osman Timbo while serving as Legal Adviser at State House and also Board Member of the National Commission for Privatization (NCP) received salary up to February 2018 whilst Ahmed Mansaray whilst serving as staff of NASSIT received salary from the CRF up to December 2017.

He therefore ordered that they refund all monies received during the time served as MPs within thirty days from the date of the judgment.

Each of the MPs had received three Le.165 as CDF and emoluments, bringing the total sum to Le 730m.